Tuesday, Jan. 1 brought in newly elected Kaufman County officials to their post during a swearing in ceremony at the Courthouse.

County Judge Hal Richards proceeded over the swearing in of county officials after replacing outgoing County Judge Bruce Wood.

The new officials sworn in are county treasurer Chuck Mohnkern, Commissioner of Pct. 4 Ken Cates and Justice of the Peace Pct. 2 Amy Tarno.

The officials returning to their respective posts and sworn to another term are county clerk Laura Hughes, Commissioner Pct. 1 Mike Hunt and Commissioner Pct. 2 Skeet Phillips.

Also sworn in were Justice of the Peace Pct. 1 Mary Bardin, Justice of the Peace Pct. 3 Mike Smith and Justice of the Peace Pct. 4 Johnny Adams.

County’s Administrative judge Mike Chitty of the 422nd District administered the oath to the remaining judiciary that include 86th District Judge Casey Blair and County Court at Law #2 Judge Bobby Rich.

Tracy Gray who was elected to the Kaufman County Court at law was sworn in and was robed for service on the bench.

Also taking their oaths of office were District Clerk Rhonda Hughey and District Attorney Erleigh Norville Wiley.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Thank you for Reading!

Please log in, or sign up for a new account and purchase a subscription to read or post comments.